A Castaway

The orange umbrella in the light blue water, perched on the small wooden structure is fluttering gracefully like the skirt of a maiden swinging to and fro. The warm breeze is kissing my cheeks and welcoming me to the Castaway island. It is a delight to watch children shouting with glee and calling their mammas to watch them have fun. You know how children are. When they feel happy they want to share their happiness and joy with their parents. They want them to be part of their fun. This is the basic building block of humanity. Of course we grow up and we forget this building block and start searching for it.

I am lying down on the beach chair, in my blue flowery swimming suit under the yellow umbrella. I am loving the scattered colors of the umbrellas, the orange, green, blue and orange. Suddenly my eyes caught on the girl who was doing summersault on the beach and then proceeded to do the same in the shallow waters. She must be around twelve wearing a bright red swimsuit and swimming goggles, having the most blissful fun. Ah the age of innocence when no worry crosses your mind. Children actually live the way we are designed to live. There is a toddler running up and down the sand and laughing and falling and getting up without crying. He doesn’t care. I see people from across the world of all colors looking like a color palate when a painting has been painted.

Well, my daytime reverie is broken by the the bar tender who was calling out for people for the cool drink.

By this time my swimsuit, blue with scattered white flowers has dried up and I am feeling drowsy from the smell of the sea and cool breeze which has now changed its role and is trying to loll me into a sleep. I know if I close my eyes I will just float away but I have been given the task to keep an eye on all the stuff lying around me so I cannot shut my eyes and drift away in my world of dreams.
You must be wondering what am o doing here all alone. Well, I am a castaway on the castaway island in the Bahamas. Today is like any other day at the beach with my tools.. yes tools to write my story ..
I am drowsy now with the sun and the sand and the smell of sunscreens .. so far so good. Wait for some more ..


See you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.